## She Can't Say No. She's a Volunteer!

View Maureen's LinkedIn Profile





Maureen Paz de Araujo is the winner of our 2020 APA

Colorado President's Award for 2020 due to her unyielding service to our organization. Maureen is not only a leader in transportation planning, but she also regularly makes time to give back to our community, foster partnerships, and provide mentoring.

Even before my tenure as APA Colorado President, Maureen earned a reputation for her willingness to say "yes!" Maureen's recent volunteer service includes:

- ASCE Southern Colorado Event Planner (Board Member) 2012 2014
- Mountain Shadows Park Waldo Canyon Pro Bono Design Support 2014
- Waldo Canyon Wildfire Restoration Log Erosion Barrier Installation on Blodgett Peak 2014
- Transportation Research Board (TRB) Standing Committees. Her service included the review of 5 papers for the committees:
  - Member of ABR30 Disaster Response and Emergency Evaluations
  - Friend of ADA40 Transportation on Public Lands
  - o Friend of ADA20 Metropolitan Planning, Policy and Processes
  - Friend of ADB50 Planning Applications
- 2014 AICP CTP Exam Standard Setting
- 2018 AICP Exam Item Writing
- 2020 AICP Exam Committee
- Colorado Transportation Symposium 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, & 2020
- APA Colorado Chapter South Central Area Representative (current)
  - Southern Colorado Area Board Representative 2017-2020
  - o Membership Committee ongoing
  - o Planners Institute of Colorado Board ongoing
  - o Great Places in Colorado Award Committee 2019, 2020
  - Michigan APA Chapter Awards Committee 2020

## When I asked Maureen to provide her insight into the value of service or define what motivates her, she responded:

"Always strive to be a part of things that matter to the lives and aspirations of others. Be the 'Little Engine that Could' and give it all you can. You will make a difference and you will feel all the better for having given back what you are fortunate enough to have been given."

I feel blessed to know and serve with Maureen and I'm proud to provide her with the 2020 APA Colorado President's Award for her continued demonstration of servant leadership.